مهمة

يقدم Loaves and Fishes Food Pantry الطعام بلطف ورحمة لأي شخص يطلب المساعدة مع توفير فرصة للمتطوعين لمساعدة جيرانهم.

هناك عدد من الطرق لدعم مهمتنا بالتبرعات ، وكذلك السلع والخدمات ، وبرامج العطاء السهلة.

كيف تعمل الأشياء في Loaves & Fishes

نحن نعمل على تقوية مجتمعنا من خلال مكافحة الجوع.

ما نوع الطعام الذي سأحصل عليه؟

يسر Loaves & Fishes توفير البقالة لك مرتين كل شهر. في كل مرة يزور فيها شخص ما Loaves &Fishes ، سيحصل على عربة بقالة (حوالي 100 رطل) من الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة والخبز والمعجنات والحلوى والحليب والبيض واللحوم المجمدة ومجموعة متنوعة من الفواكه المعلبة والمجففة والخضروات المعلبة وغيرها من الأطعمة المستقرة على الرف مثل الزيت والحبوب والمعكرونة والأرز.

ما يمكن توقعه عند زيارتك.

يتم توزيع البقالة على أساس من يأتي أولا يخدم أولا ثلاثة أيام في الأسبوع - لا يلزم تحديد موعد. استلام البقالة يوم الثلاثاء عن طريق التعيين فقط.

ندعوك للحضور إلى المخزن ، واتباع تعليمات وقوف السيارات ، والبقاء في سيارتك ، وانتظار توصيل البقالة إلى سيارتك.

قم بالقيادة عبر استلام البقالة
الأربعاء : 2:00 - 4:00 مساء
الخميس : 6:30 – 8:30 مساء
السبت : 10:00 صباحا – 12:00 ظهرا

عن طريق موعد مسبق فقط
الثلاثاء : 4:00 - 7:00 مساء *

 

كيفية دعم مخزن طعام الأرغفة والأسماك

تطوع ، تبرعات نقدية ، تبرع بالطعام والإمدادات

تعتمد Loaves &Fishes على دعم 125 متطوعا كل أسبوع لمساعدتنا في فحص وفرز وتعبئة وتوزيع المنتجات الطازجة واللحوم والخبز والمواد السلعية الثابتة على الرفوف. يتم تقديم المناوبات ستة أيام كل أسبوع وتتراوح مدتها من 90 دقيقة إلى أربع ساعات. يعمل المتطوعون جنبا إلى جنب مع الموظفين ، ويتم توفير التدريب في بداية كل نوبة ، لذلك لا يلزم وجود خبرة سابقة لأي من وظائفنا.

الناس يكافحون مع الجوع هنا في شارلوتسفيل. وجد Map the Meal Gap ، وهو مشروع تابع ل Feeding America ، أن شارلوتسفيل في عام 2021 لديها أعلى مستوى من انعدام الأمن الغذائي في منطقتنا ، حيث لا يستطيع 11.2٪ من السكان ككل الوصول إلى ما يكفي من الغذاء الصحي كل شهر ، وانعدام الأمن الغذائي للأطفال بنسبة 12.1٪.

 

يأتي الطعام الذي تقدمه Loaves &Fishes من محلات البقالة المحلية والمزارعين والبساتين وموزعي المواد الغذائية ومحركات الطعام.  تشمل التبرعات اللحوم المجمدة والفواكه والخضروات الطازجة والمعلبة والسلع المخبوزة والأطعمة الجاهزة ومنتجات الألبان.

المزيد من المعلومات

اخصائية تغذية corner_481756126_mm

ركن التغذية

يساعد الموظفون وأخصائيو التغذية المسجلون مونيكا ديفيس وسامانثا فان دايك في فرز واختيار أفضل الأطعمة عند تجميع البقالة لضيوفنا. أنها توفر وصفات ونصائح حول طرق تخزين وإعداد الطعام الذي نقدمه. تكتب مونيكا رسالة إخبارية شهرية يتم تضمينها في أكياس الطعام لكل زائر. تقدم مونيكا وسامانثا أنشطة التثقيف الغذائي في المخزن.

لدينا إجابات على العديد من الأسئلة التي يطرحها العملاء والمتطوعون والداعمون بانتظام على صفحة الأسئلة الشائعة. إذا لم تجد إجابة لاستفسارك ، فيرجى الاتصال بنا باستخدام نموذج البريد الإلكتروني أدناه.

شكرا لمشاركتكم ودعمكم.

قراءة أحدث النشرات الإخبارية

اقرأ هنا

إقرأ المزيد

النشرة الإخبارية الأخيرة لعام 2023

اقرأ هنا

إقرأ المزيد

زراعة شارلوتسفيل ومجموعة الزراعة الحضرية

كانت الساعة 3:30 بعد ظهر يوم جمعة في أوائل يونيو عندما دخلت شاحنة صغيرة تان إلى ساحة انتظار السيارات في شقق فريندشيب كورت. كانت الشاحنة مملوكة لشركة Cultivate Charlottesville ، وهي منظمة محلية غير ربحية تدير برنامجا زراعيا حضريا يسمى Urban Agriculture Collective. داخل سرير الشاحنة كانت صناديق مكدسة بدقة من المنتجات الطازجة....

إقرأ المزيد

العيادة الصحية المتنقلة الجديدة في منطقة بلو ريدج الصحية تجعل المحطة الأولى في Loaves &Fishes

كان من دواعي سرور Loaves &Fishes أن يتم اختيارها كمحطة أولى للعيادة الصحية المتنقلة الجديدة في منطقة بلو ريدج الصحية خلال توزيع الطعام المعتاد بعد ظهر الأربعاء في 9 يونيو 2021. اشترت المنطقة الصحية الوحدة ، وهو حلم طويل الأمد وفقا لكارول شاندروس ، وهي ممرضة لمدة 30 عاما مع المنطقة الصحية ، مع ...

إقرأ المزيد

تعرف على عضو مجلس إدارة Loaves and Fishes دانيال فيرلي

عضو مجلس إدارة Loaves and Fishes دانيال فيرلي شغوف بالعدالة الاجتماعية والإنصاف ، مع التركيز على الخدمة والعمل. مشاركته في مجتمع شارلوتسفيل - الإخوة الكبار ، الأخوات الكبار متطوعون. عضو ، والآن رئيس 100 رجل أسود ؛ وكمنسق لفرص الشباب لمدينة شارلوتسفيل منذ عام 2017 - عمق التزامه. دانيال...

إقرأ المزيد

شريك المجتمع • تدفق جميع النعم

قالت آني دود ، مؤسسة منظمة All Blessings Flow غير الربحية للمعدات الطبية ، "كانت هناك حاجة ، ولم يفكر أحد حقا في ملئها!"  اعتنت آني بأمها ، التي أصيبت بشلل الأطفال في سن المراهقة ومتلازمة ما بعد شلل الأطفال في سنواتها الأخيرة ، وتطلبت الكثير من المعدات الطبية. عندما توفيت والدتها ، لم يكن هناك مكان ...

إقرأ المزيد

شريك • مأوى للمساعدة والطوارئ

بصفتها مديرة السكن لمأوى للمساعدة في حالات الطوارئ ، تتأكد أندريا دومينج من تشغيل المأوى وتقديم الخدمات. وهذا يشمل ضمان حصول جميع العملاء وأطفالهم على ما يكفي من الطعام المغذي. يوفر المأوى كل عام السلامة والخدمات لأكثر من 400 امرأة وطفل يعانون من العنف المنزلي. أثناء وجوده في ...

إقرأ المزيد

كيف تحول صندوق PB&J الشريك L&F أثناء الوباء

بدأ مارس 2020 دافئا ، بعد شتاء معتدل آخر في بيدمونت. بدأت التكهنات حول عاصفة ثلجية متأخرة في التلاشي بينما كانت الأخبار حول فيروس كورونا الجديد تتجه على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كان التهديد المتزايد لوباء عالمي ملموسا مثل عاصفة من الرياح قبل عاصفة تقترب. أليكس لندن جروس,...

إقرأ المزيد

تعرف على مونيكا ديفيس ، أخصائية تغذية RDN ، أرغفة وأسماك

كانت أخصائية التغذية مونيكا ديفيس ، التي انضمت إلى موظفي Loaves and Fishes في عام 2020 ، مفتونة بالطعام طوال حياتها.  تنحدر مونيكا من عائلة كبيرة في مينيسوتا وساعدت والدتها ، وهي طاهية ممتازة ، في إعداد وجبات الأسرة. عندما تحدثت أخصائية تغذية من مستشفى محلي عن حياتها المهنية في علم التغذية في اجتماع مونيكا 4H في المدرسة الثانوية ، مونيكا ...

إقرأ المزيد

قابل منسق المتطوعين L&F ، تريسي أربو

كانت تريسي أربو جزءا لا يتجزأ من Loaves & Fishes على مدار ال 10 سنوات الماضية.  بدأت لأول مرة بالتطوع مع عائلتها في أول يوم سبت من كل شهر عندما نفد مخزن جاكسون فيا الابتدائية.  بعد ثلاث سنوات ، قدمت متطلبات الوقت لوظيفتها كمعلمة لمرحلة ما قبل المدرسة ...

إقرأ المزيد

شهادات

يحب الناس العظماء هناك أن الشباب متورطون ومهذبون للغاية. هؤلاء الناس يساعدون في منع بطني من الهدير ، بارك الله فيكم جميعا. 
مكان رائع للتطوع حيث تساعد الناس حقا. 
أريد فقط أن أشكركم على كل المساعدة التي تلقيتها ، أنتم لطيفون ومفيدون للغاية. جو ودود للغاية والموظفين. بارك الله فيكم.

كانت هذه تجربتي 1 وأنا في مهب. لقد فعلوا كل شيء! جمعوا وحملوا كل شيء! حتى حصلت على كتب لأحفادي وكعكة للمساعدة في الاحتفال بعيد ميلاد حفيدي! هذه الأشياء مهمة! خاصة عندما لا تكون الحياة سهلة عليك. فقط تذكر أن تحضر حقائبك. بالتأكيد مورد رائع لمجتمعنا! شكرا جزيلا❤️.

يلبي هذا المكان احتياجات عائلتك إلى ما هو أبعد من مجرد إعطائك الطعام. لقد استوعبوا أفراد الأسرة الخالي من اللاكتوز والغلوتين. أطباق فواكه طازجة ، رفوف من الضلوع ، لحم بقري مفروم ... علاوة على كل ذلك. أعطتني السيدة هناك (أتمنى لو حصلت على اسمها) أجمل باقة زهور. كنت قد أخبرتها عن حادث ابني والسبب الذي جعل عائلتي تجد نفسها بحاجة إلى المساعدة. لم أشعر مرة واحدة أنني كنت أقل من شخص وقد جعلوا أنفسهم متاحين حقا ووصلوا إليك بسرعة ومع ذلك لم يجعلوك تشعر بالاستعجال. عمل جيد بارك الله فيكم ... وأنا متأكد من أنه يمكنهم استخدام كل المساعدة الإضافية في التبرعات الغذائية والمال. أوه ، لقد نسيت. حتى أنهم أعطوا كلبي بعض الطعام. هؤلاء الرجال هبة من السماء ... من فضلك إذا كنت تستطيع إعطاء الأرغفة والأسماك إذا كنت بحاجة إلى القليل من المساعدة. هؤلاء الرجال هم المكان المناسب للحصول عليه.

هذا مكان رائع ساعدني في كثير من الأحيان عندما كنت في أزمة أو لم يكن لدي مال على الإطلاق لوضع الطعام على الطاولة. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساعدة عندما لا تسير الأمور في طريقك ولديك طريقة لوضع الطعام على الطاولة. اذهب إلى مخزن طعام الأرغفة والأسماك. سوف يساعدونك لن تجوع أبدا. بارك الله في هذه المنظمة والموظفين المتطوعين.

مرحبا بكم في مخزن طعام الأرغفة والأسماك

توزيع المواد الغذائية

كيف تعمل الأشياء

التركيز على الطعام المغذي

متطوعو UVA في Loaves and Fishes

اتصل بنا

نحن نحب أن نسمع منك.

أرغفة وأسماك مخزن الطعام
2050 طريق الحملان
شارلوتسفيل ، فيرجينيا 22901

434-996-7868

    اشترك في نشرتنا الإخبارية

    ابق على اطلاع!

    نرسل رسالة إخبارية عبر البريد الإلكتروني مرة أو مرتين في الشهر.

    وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (USDA)

    تقدم Loaves &Fishes الطعام من برنامج المساعدة الغذائية الطارئة التابع لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (TEFAP). يمكن لأي شخص يبلغ إجمالي دخل أسرته 185٪ أو أقل من مستوى الفقر الفيدرالي الحصول على طعام TEFAP من Loaves & Fishes ومخازن الطعام الأخرى.

    أي أسرة تتلقى برنامج المساعدة الغذائية التكميلية (SNAP) أو المساعدة المؤقتة للأسر المحتاجة (TANF) أو دخل الضمان التكميلي (SSI) أو Medicaid مؤهلة لتلقي طعام TEFAP في Loaves and Fishes.

     

    برنامج صندوق الطعام لكبار السن:
    تحتوي صناديق الطعام لكبار السن على طعام تم الحصول عليه من برنامج الأغذية التكميلية للسلع (CSFP) والذي يتم تعبئته بعد ذلك بواسطة متطوعين في بنك الطعام ، جنبا إلى جنب مع التثقيف الغذائي وبطاقات الوصفات. هذا هو البرنامج الوحيد لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية الذي يستهدف على وجه التحديد كبار السن ذوي الدخل المنخفض وهو مفتوح للأفراد الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 60 عاما أو أكثر والذين لديهم دخل عند أو أقل من المبادئ التوجيهية الحالية للفقر الفيدرالية بنسبة 130٪.

    كل شهر ، يتلقى كبار السن المؤهلين في المنطقة الذين لا تقل أعمارهم عن 60 عاما الذين يزورون Loaves and Fishes صندوقا يبلغ وزنه 300 رطل من الأطعمة المستقرة على الرف ، مثل الحليب والعصير والحبوب والأرز أو المعكرونة وزبدة الفول السوداني والفاصوليا الجافة واللحوم المعلبة والدواجن أو الأسماك والفواكه والخضروات المعلبة وكتلة من الجبن تزن رطلين ، بالإضافة إلى الطعام الطازج والمستقر على الرف الذي نقدمه لجميع الأسر.

    شعار وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية

    لا تشارك Loaves & Fishes أي معلومات تتعلق بعملائنا مع أي شخص بخلاف ما يطلب منا الإبلاغ عنه سنويا إلى وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية.

    بيان عدم التمييز الصادر عن وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية

    وفقا لقانون الحقوق المدنية الفيدرالي ولوائح وسياسات الحقوق المدنية لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (USDA) ، يحظر على وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ووكالاتها ومكاتبها وموظفيها والمؤسسات المشاركة في برامج وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية أو إدارتها التمييز على أساس العرق أو اللون أو الأصل القومي أو الدين أو الجنس أو الهوية الجنسية (بما في ذلك التعبير الجنسي) والتوجه الجنسي والإعاقة والعمر والحالة الاجتماعية والأسرة / الحالة الأبوية ، الدخل المستمد من برنامج المساعدة العامة أو المعتقدات السياسية أو الانتقام أو الانتقام من نشاط الحقوق المدنية السابق ، في أي برنامج أو نشاط تجريه أو تموله وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (لا تنطبق جميع القواعد على جميع البرامج). تختلف سبل الانتصاف والمواعيد النهائية لتقديم الشكاوى حسب البرنامج أو الحادث.

    يجب على الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة الذين يحتاجون إلى وسائل اتصال بديلة للحصول على معلومات البرنامج (مثل طريقة برايل ، والطباعة الكبيرة ، والشريط الصوتي ، ولغة الإشارة الأمريكية ، وما إلى ذلك) ، الاتصال بالوكالة المسؤولة أو مركز TARGET التابع لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية على (202) 720-2600 (صوت و TTY) أو الاتصال بوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية من خلال خدمة الترحيل الفيدرالية على (800) 877-8339. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد يتم توفير معلومات البرنامج بلغات أخرى غير الإنجليزية.

    لتقديم شكوى تمييز في البرنامج ، أكمل نموذج شكوى التمييز في برنامج وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية AD-3027 ، الموجود عبر الإنترنت على كيفية تقديم نموذج شكوى التمييز في البرنامج وفي أي مكتب من مكاتب وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية أو اكتب خطابا موجها إلى وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية وقدم في الرسالة جميع المعلومات المطلوبة في النموذج. لطلب نسخة من نموذج الشكوى ، اتصل بالرقم (866) 632-9992.

    أرسل النموذج أو الخطاب المكتمل إلى وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية عن طريق:

    1. بريد:
      وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية

      مكتب مساعد وزير الخارجية للحقوق المدنية
      1400 شارع الاستقلال ، جنوب غرب
      واشنطن العاصمة 20250-9410;
    2. فاكس: (202) 690-7442; أو
    3. البريد الإلكتروني: program.intake@usda.gov.

Loaves & Fishes is closed for the Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 27, 2024 and is not offering food pickup by appointment on Tuesday, May 28, 2024. The pantry is open for drive-through food distributions on Wednesday, May 22, from 2-4 pm, Thursday, May 23, from 6:30-8:30 pm and Saturday, May 25, from 10 am - 12 pm, and the same hours on Wednesday May 29, Thursday, May 30, and Saturday, June 1.

Cooking Classes with Grocery Pick-up ~ Clases de Cocina con Recogida de Comestibles
Fridays 5/3 & 5/31, 2024
1:00-2:15pm
Registration required.
Email lfcookingclasses@gmail.com
Call or text (434) 233-4446

Mission

Loaves & Fishes Food Pantry gives food with kindness and compassion to anyone who seeks assistance while providing an opportunity for volunteers to help their neighbors.

There are a number of ways to support our mission with donations, as well as goods and services, and easy giving programs.

How things work at Loaves & Fishes

We are working to strengthen our community by combatting hunger.

What kind of food will I get?

Loaves & Fishes is happy to provide groceries for you two times each month. Each time someone visits Loaves & Fishes, they will receive a grocery cart (about 100 pounds) of fresh fruit and vegetables, bread, pastries, and dessert, milk, eggs, frozen meat, and a variety of canned and dried fruits, canned vegetables, and other shelf-stable foods like oil, cereal, pasta, and rice.

What to expect when you visit.

Groceries are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis three days a week—no appointment is needed. Tuesday's grocery pickup is by appointment only.

We invite you to come to the Pantry, follow the parking instructions, stay in your car, and wait for your groceries to be delivered to your vehicle.

DRIVE THROUGH GROCERY PICKUP
Wednesdays: 2:00 – 4:00 PM
Thursdays: 6:30 – 8:30 PM
Saturdays: 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM

BY ADVANCE APPOINTMENT ONLY
Tuesdays: 4:00 – 7:00 PM*

 

How to Support Loaves & Fishes Food Pantry

Volunteer, Monetary Donations, Donate Food & Supplies

Loaves & Fishes relies on the support of 125 volunteers each week to help us inspect, sort, pack, and give out fresh produce, meat, bread, and shelf-stable commodity items. Shifts are offered six days each week and range in length from 90 minutes to four hours. Volunteers work alongside staff members, and training is provided at the start of each shift, so no prior experience is needed for any of our jobs.

People struggle with hunger right here in Charlottesville. Map the Meal Gap, a project of Feeding America, found that Charlottesville in 2021 had the highest level of food insecurity in our area, with 11.2% of the population as a whole unable to access enough healthy food each month, and child food insecurity at 12.1%.

 

The food Loaves & Fishes gives out comes from local groceries, farmers, orchards, food distributors, and food drives.  Donations include frozen meat, fresh and canned fruits and vegetables, baked goods, prepared foods and dairy.

More Information

nutritionist corner_481756126_mm

Nutritionist Corner

Staff members and registered dietitians Monica Davis and Samantha Van Dyke help sort and select the best foods when assembling groceries for our guests. They provide recipes and tips on ways to store and prepare, the food we provide. Monica writes a monthly newsletter that is included in each visitor’s bags of food. Monica and Samantha offer nutrition education activities at the Pantry.

We have answers to the many questions regularly asked by clients, volunteers and supporters on our FAQ page. If you do not find an answer to your query, please get in touch with us using the email form below.

Thank you for your participation and support.

Read latest newsletter

Read here

Read More

Last Newsletter for 2023

Read here

Read More

Cultivate Charlottesville and the Urban Agriculture Collective

It was 3:30 in the afternoon on a Friday in early June when a tan pickup truck rolled into the parking lot of the Friendship Court Apartments. The truck belonged to Cultivate Charlottesville, a local non-profit that operates an urban farm program called the Urban Agriculture Collective. Inside the truck’s bed were neatly stacked bins of fresh produce.…

Read More

Blue Ridge Health District’s New Mobile Health Clinic Makes First Stop at Loaves & Fishes

Loaves & Fishes was delighted to be chosen as the first stop for the Blue Ridge Health District’s new Mobile Health Clinic during our regular Wednesday afternoon food distribution on June 9, 2021. The health district purchased the unit, a long-time dream according to Carol Chandross, a nurse for 30 years with the health district, with…

Read More

Meet Loaves & Fishes Board Member Daniel Fairley

Loaves & Fishes Board member Daniel Fairley is passionate about social justice and equity, with a focus on service and action. His involvement in the Charlottesville community—Big Brothers, Big Sisters volunteer; member, and now President of 100 Black Men; and as Youth Opportunity Coordinator for the City of Charlottesville since 2017—has deepened his commitment. Daniel’s…

Read More

Community Partner • All Blessings Flow

Annie Dodd, founder of medical equipment nonprofit All Blessings Flow said, “There was a need, and no one had really thought about filling it!”  Annie cared for her mom, who had polio as a teenager and post-polio syndrome in her last years, and required a lot of medical equipment. When her mother passed away, there was nowhere…

Read More

Partner • Shelter for Help and Emergency

As the residential manager for Shelter for Help in Emergency, Andrea Domingue makes sure the shelter is operational and services are being provided. This includes ensuring that all clients and their children have sufficient nutritious food. Each year the Shelter provides safety and services for over 400 women and children experiencing domestic violence. While at…

Read More

How L&F Partner PB&J Fund Pivoted During the Pandemic

March 2020 started out warm, following another mild Winter in the Piedmont. Speculation about a late snowstorm was beginning to fade while news about a new novel coronavirus was trending on social media. The growing threat of a global pandemic was as palpable as a gust of wind ahead of an approaching storm. Alex London-Gross,…

Read More

Meet Monica Davis, RDN, Loaves & Fishes Nutritionist

Nutritionist Monica Davis, who joined Loaves & Fishes’ staff in 2020, has been enthralled with food her entire life.  Monica comes from a big Minnesota family and helped her mom, an excellent cook, prepare the family meals. When a dietitian from a local hospital spoke about her career in dietetics at Monica’s high school 4H meeting, Monica…

Read More

Meet L&F Volunteer Coordinator, Tracy Arbaugh

Tracy Arbaugh has been an integral part of Loaves & Fishes over the past 10 years.  She first started by volunteering with her family on the first Saturday of each month when the pantry ran out of Jackson Via Elementary.  Three years later, the time requirements of her job as a preschool teacher offered the…

Read More

Testimonials

Great people there love that the young people are involved and so polite. these people help keep my tummy from growling, bless you all. 
A great place to volunteer where you are really helping people. 
I just want to thank you for all of the help I received y'all are extremely nice and helpful. Very friendly atmosphere and staff. May god bless y'all.

This was my 1st experience and I am blown away. They did everything! They collected, and loaded everything! Even got books for my grandbabies and a cake to help celebrate my grandson's birthday! These things matter! Especially when life hasn’t been easy on you. Just remember to bring your bags. Definitely an amazing resource for our community! Thank you so much❤️.

This place caters to your family's needs well beyond just giving you food. They accommodated lactose-free and gluten-sensitive family members. Fresh fruit platters, racks of ribs, ground beef... On top of it all. The lady there (wish I got her name) gave me the prettiest flower bouquet. I had told her about my son's accident and the reason my family found themselves in need of assistance. Not once did I feel like I was any less of a person and they really made themselves available and got to you fast and yet didn't make you feel rushed. Good job God bless … and I'm sure they could use all the extra help in food donations and money. Oh, I forgot. They even gave my dog some food. These guys are a godsend… please if you can give to loaves and fishes if you are in need of a bit of help. These guys are the place to get it from.

This a wonderful place that has helped me a lot of times when I was in crisis or had no money at all to put food on the table. If, you need assistance when things are not going your way and you have a way of putting food on the table. Go to Loaves & Fishes Food Pantry. They will help you you never will go hungry. GOD Bless this organization and the volunteer staff.

Welcome to Loaves & Fishes Food Pantry

Food Distribution

How Things Work

Focus on Nutritious Food

UVA Volunteers at Loaves & Fishes

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Loaves & Fishes Food Pantry
2050 Lambs Road
Charlottesville, VA 22901

434-996-7868

    Subscribe to Our Newsletter

    Stay informed!

    We send an email newsletter once or twice a month.

    United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

    Loaves & Fishes offers food from the US Department of Agriculture's Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP). Anyone whose total household income is 185% or less of the Federal Poverty Level can receive TEFAP food from Loaves & Fishes and other food pantries.

    Any household receiving Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Medicaid is eligible to receive TEFAP food at Loaves & Fishes.

     

    Senior Food Box Program:
    Senior Food Boxes contain food obtained from the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) that is then packed by volunteers at the Food Bank, along with nutrition education and recipe cards. This is the USDA’s only program that specifically targets low-income seniors and is open to individuals aged 60 and over with incomes at or below the current 130% federal poverty guidelines.

    Each month, qualified area seniors at least 60 years of age visiting Loaves & Fishes receive a 300-pound box of shelf-stable foods, such as milk, juice, cereal, rice or pasta, peanut butter, dry beans, canned meat, poultry, or fish, canned fruits and vegetables, and a two-pound block of cheese, in addition to the fresh and shelf-stable food we give all households.

    USDA Logo

    Loaves & Fishes does not share any information regarding our clients with anyone other than what we are required to report annually to the USDA.

    USDA Non-Discrimination Statement

    In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity (including gender expression), sexual orientation, disability, age, marital status, family/parental status, income derived from a public assistance program, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity, in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA (not all bases apply to all programs). Remedies and complaint filing deadlines vary by program or incident.

    Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the responsible Agency or USDA's TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TTY) or contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

    To file a program discrimination complaint, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form AD-3027, found online at How to File a Program Discrimination Complaint Form and at any USDA office or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.

    Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:

    1. Mail:
      U.S. Department of Agriculture

      Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
      1400 Independence Avenue, SW
      Washington, D.C. 20250-9410;
    2. Fax: (202) 690-7442; or
    3. Email: program.intake@usda.gov.